Ouch Ouch Ouch

For those of you who don’t know, I was an English major in college. It’s a small college, so I ended up taking 98% of my classes with the same professor. I love this professor and count him as one of the people who has significantly influenced my life……but in all honesty, the classes did get a bit repetitive.  After the second semester, I pretty much had the syllabus memorized and became an expert on how to do my projects and write my papers the “Travers” way. One of the things I appreciated though, was the fact that I had a pretty significant  glossary of literary terms in my brain, and it will be forever written on the walls of my mind after a 4 year repetition of the same key terms. One of the terms that really stuck with me was the term hubris.

Here I will pause, so that you can pick yourself up off the floor after being blown away by my extravagant display of know-it-allness.

Hubris is the term for the fatal flaw in the most well-known literary characters. It’s in Othello and King Lear; it’s in Voldemort, Galbatorix, and Sauron. Even Odysseus, Elizabeth Bennett, and Harry Potter can’t escape the hubris.  Even though I’m not a well-known literary character, it seems that I can’t escape it either.

Hubris is pride. Ugly, all-consuming, far from the heart of God pride. Hubris touched each one of the characters I listed, but some with different results. The villains are obvious-the Dark Wizard who thinks he can conquer death, the newlywed prince who ends up murdering his wife-the fatal flaw is their undoing as they each face the consequences of their villainy. But what of Elizabeth Bennet and everyone’s favorite nerdy wizard? They display pride in different actions and situations, but the moment of their awareness of the fatal flaw becomes a catalyst for change. Elizabeth comes face-to-face with her pride, and takes immediate action against it. Her story moves in a completely different direction and she is permanently changed. When Harry realizes he can’t defeat Voldemort alone, well, I won’t spoil the end for you if you havn’t read it. =)

My hubris has taken quite of few hits these past couple days and left me in need of some serious self-examination. Pride says that you can’t touch me, you can’t hurt me, you can’t make me. Pride is a wall which I can “safely” hide behind and shout to God and everyone else that I am enough, and that I don’t need anything or anyone else but me. I’m struggling to write this, because I doubt my ability to write an honest post about my struggle with pride without pride sneaking in and displaying the ugliness of my soul to everyone reading. Even as I write this sentence, I’m angry at myself that I keep personifying pride as if it is some force acting against me and not my own flesh warring against my spirit. Pride is the furthest thing from Christ, who lived a life of humilty beyond our comprehension. He lowered himself from the throne of heaven to the dusty earth, and then to the death of a common thief.  With my heart so full of ugliness and my inability to do anything worthwhile on my own, how could I even think to aspire to self-reliance and arrogance?

I could end here, but the good news for me is that it doesn’t end here. One of my favorite Bible verses says that “His mercies are new every morning.” Life would be unbearable, and I would be unbearable if God’s mercy did not extend to me every second of every day. Christ was nailed to the cross for my pride and all the rest of my fatal flaws, and the glorious result of His sacrifice is that I can stamp down my pride and ask Christ to replace it with His humilty.

“Let this mind be in you which was also in Christ Jesus, who, being in the form of God, did not consider it robbery to be equal with God, but made Himself of no reputation, taking the form of a bondservant, and coming in the likeness of men. And being found in appearance as a man, He humbled Himself and became obedient to the point of death, even the death of the cross. Therefore God also has highly exalted Him and given Him the name which is above every name, that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, of those in heaven, and of those on earth, and of those under the earth, and that every tongue should confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.” (Philippians 2:5-11).

3 Comments

Filed under Bonnie chatters endlessly

3 responses to “Ouch Ouch Ouch

  1. Nader

    Ok. I feel the previous topic (feminism) could have been used for a good discussion. I feel like a lot of issues could be discussed through a blog with people who have completely different backgrounds, and different things to say. I personally want to hear more of what bottlecappie has to say because she seems to be pretty knowledgeable about feminism. Bonnie, I think it’s cool that you posted this and I feel that you really did not intend to hurt anyone with your posts. But it still happened. And I think that says something about how you approach differing opinions and beliefs.

    The main problem is that you were arrogant in the posts and didn’t really leave any room for discussion. Obviously it is your blog and you can create a post of just profanity if you wanted to, and it wouldn’t matter what anyone said. But I’m pretty sure you don’t want that. I feel like you would want to have a good discussion. Anson and Amanda made very good points about blogs like this doing more harm than good. After the first post, Apryl even made a somewhat passive aggressive comment on how you weren’t being harsh or degrading. I disagree with that and it seemed like that comment was a indirect response to the previous comments made on that blog.

    Honestly, the attitude reflected in the previous posts is the main reason I stopped going to Wake Cross Roads. People told me what to believe without any sort of depth and then when I got out of the bubble I was in, none of it was applicable. And Jesus’ teachings are completely practical and life-altering. And most people never know that because all they see is arrogance and rudeness and whatever else. People cannot be placed into a box of Christian or non-Christian. People are just people. People are complex and completely deep because we are created in God’s image. And I think the previous posts just hammered this attitude of arrogance and only confirmed the view that most people have of “born again” conservative Christians. I definitely am not perfect and I’ll be open to the fact that what I believe could be totally different in reality. I don’t want to tear you down and I definitely do not want to preach to you (or anyone haha) but I just think things could be handled in a more mature way. Anyways I’ll stop here for now but tell me what you think because I want to know.

    Paice

  2. ravnistic

    Nader,
    Thanks for your comment, I can tell that you really thought it through. I would be more comfortable responding to you personally. I’m certainly not blowing you off, but both Brian and I have tons more ideas for our blog and would really like to explore those and leave this issue alone for a while. I will try to get a hold of your e-mail, and here is mine: bonnie_alicia@yahoo.com

    Thanks everyone for your thoughts, stick around and see what insanity lies ahead.

  3. ravnistic

    FYI: Oops, that was me, Bonnie. Ravnistic is our wordpress user name.

Leave a Reply

