There’s Room for One More in Mousie Heaven

Last night, whilst I was faithfully doing the dishes and accomplishing other various and sundry household duties, I had another run-in with a mouse. When I say “run-in” I do mean it in the most literal sense of the word. I was blissfully and cheerfully washing the dishes when suddenly, out of nowhere, ANOTHER mouse came running STRAIGHT AT MY FEET!!!  He stopped just short of my foot, took a right turn, and disappeared into the closet that houses the AC unit. I’m still not sure whether the mouse actually touched me, it all happened so fast! I screamed “AHHH ANOTHER MOUSE” and my glorious husband came running to the rescue.

“We are getting mousetraps” Brian growled. I went back to my dishes and nervously looked towards the closet expecting the mouse to come out and finish what he started.  I have revisited my prior theory that mice exist to nibble on my toes. This was clearly what he was after, and obviously he lost his nerve at the very last second and sought refuge with the AC unit instead.

Fast forward to tonight. We went to Wal-Mart to buy some groceries and other random things you get at Wal-Mart when you leave 4 or 5 or 8 things off your list and suddenly remember you need them. After practically running through Wal-mart following some guy who was not wearing a uniform direct us to the mousetraps, we selected a package of sticky traps. Brian put some honey on them and placed one in the closet. 30 minutes later, we heard the unmistakeable sound of a mouse trying to escape a sticky mousetrap. I made the mistake of going to look at my trapped foe, and fell victim to the cuteness. I know mice are pests and that they carry diseases, but this guy was cute. Brian and I then realized that we had a live mouse stuck permanently to a trap and had no idea what to do with it. My story ends here, because Brian took care of the mouse and ended its suffering without telling me about it or letting me see.  Why? because that’s what real men do, they shield their wives from the suffering of small animals.

I hope our mouse adventures are over, because we are moving in two weeks and “mice infestation” is not good PR when you are trying to get someone to take over your lease.

4 Comments

Filed under Bonnie chatters endlessly

4 responses to “There’s Room for One More in Mousie Heaven

  1. For future reference here’s a way to get rid of the cute mouse if you don’t feel like killing him.

    Put the sticky trap in a box and drive far away from your house.
    Find a field.
    Hold the trap in one hand. Use your other hand to pour oil on the mouse’s feet
    He should become unstuck and run away.

  2. Bonnie

    It just can’t be that simple when Hortons are involved.

  3. Mousie

    Though I guess since you’ll be moving soon, you may not need this information as much, here are two innovative ways to make a no-kill (and no-stick) mouse trap. You might even just set one out a few nights and see if you catch any more. :}

    http://www.instructables.com/id/Simple-_No-Kill_-Mouse-Trap/

    http://www.instructables.com/id/Easy_Have_a_Heart_Trap/

  4. Pingback: Recent Links Tagged With "washing" - JabberTags

Leave a Reply

