And… rejoicing

If you’ve been following the saga of my work this will be somewhat redundant. However, it’s humorous to see how county level government works. I will present in bulleted format: The saga of Brian’s Job.

  • Early July – I receive a call for an interview at Ligon Middle
  • I get offered the Job
  • Human resources denies me the job on account of not having a technical degree
  • I sigh and keep looking
  • Principal calls me and offers the Job if I can take the Praxiss II in two weeks
  • I take Praxiss II, scores don’t come back till 15 days after I start job
  • August 15th – Start new job (Officially as a Teachers Assistant)
  • I get more, and more, and more responsibility
  • August 28th – I finally get My scores! Passed with flying colors

What now? I now have to quit my Job as a Teachers Assistant in order to be hired as a Technology Teacher. To do that, I have to take a 2 week unpaid training course so I can enter into the Lateral Entry program.
Then, I can finally be paid for the work I am doing – AND I have to take classes for the next few years to become fully certified as I will be provisionally certified.

Whew…. It’s hard working for the government.

On the bright side, I love the Job and the new opportunities it presents.

Anyways, I’m just really stoked that I passed, it’s really great not to have that over my head.

2 Comments

Filed under Ramblings by Brian

2 responses to “And… rejoicing

  1. WOOHOO! Good job on the Praxis. You’d be surprised how many people don’t pass it the first time around. Actually, since you’re now working in Public Education in NC you probably wouldn’t be surprised. Glad things are looking up.

  2. This is late in coming, but I wanted to tell you I loved the Budapest story you commented about on my site. That was hilarious.
    Jon

Leave a Reply

