My name is Brian. . . .

I’d like to take this opportunity to define myself. Why you ask? All will be clear soon.

  • My name is Brian Horton
  • I am 26 years old
  • I’ve lived in New York, Florida, South Carolina, North Carolina, and Alabama
  • I drool over modern design in dwell magazine
  • I refuse to drive anything other than European cars
  • My last European car burned down because of a fluid leak, it was French
  • I’ve worn my hair in a faux-hawk for 3 years, and I see no sign of stopping
  • I like a good pair of chinos and an athletic fit shirt
  • I dream of grilling with Bobby Flay, matching wits with Emeril, and punching Mario Batali in the face.
  • I am a foodie
  • I’ve been married for two years
  • I work in a public school in a rough neighborhood
  • I have a degree in Biblical Studies and Philosophy
  • I’m considering a Masters degree in Instructional Technology
  • I love cheese of all sorts, ghertost, brie, and aged Gouda, I could go on.
  • Going to IKEA is like taking a trip to the promised land.
  • Oh yeah, and I’m a raving right wing evangelical conservative.

Whoa, hold on about the last one.  Did you feel it? You know, the preconceived notions of conservatism? The ideas that pop into your head when someone says “Republican” or even “McCain Supporter”? You see, I’m nothing like the stereotypes. My wife is nothing like the stereotypes, in fact I can’t think of many people I know who fall into those stereotypes. I even know a country bred, thick accented, basketball watching, church going, deer hunting, bible thumping country boy who doesn’t fit into the conservative “mold”.

Wanna know why? Because according to the left the primary facet of the conservative movement is ignorance. According to them we are ignorant, backwards, stuck in the past, and unwilling to move into the future. What they fail to understand is that conservatives have a basis for their convictions. Because we have a basis we can have potential future leaders who will stand for very clear and tangible convictions and not just “Change”. The democratic campaign thus far has consisted of nothing more than “at least we’re not them”. Why else would they continually call a McCain Palin ticket “four more years of the last eight”? They have  no substance, no facts, just unspecified vague promises to make things better.

All ranting aside, do you know what I’ve learned is the cure for stereotypes? Get to know people. Not just the people who think like you do, but real honest to goodness people who don’t think like you do. Listen to them, talk to them, don’t even listen just so you can refute them. And maybe, just maybe, if you’ll give them a chance they might actually listen to you and not just your conservative label. It’s only when you put partisanship aside that people can clearly and accurately communicate with others. As long you are talking to a “stereotype”, be it liberal or conservative, you will never achieve anything more than further entrenchment.

However, don’t take this to mean you should not stand for truth. For instance, the way that the left has attacked Palin for being a mother AND having a political career? Holy crap, that’s the most hypocritical thing I have ever seen. Republicans take a “progressive” step and the Democrats eat them for lunch and dinner because it wasn’t done their way and by one of their people. Bad form.

9 Comments

Filed under 1, Ramblings by Brian

9 responses to “My name is Brian. . . .

  1. Jason

    say somethin! ….

    ps. Ikea is the bombdotcom.

  2. The substance of your post, agreed.
    Other comments:
    -I think I’m becoming a foodie. Especially with cheese. I’m really enjoying trying out different kinds that I’ve never had before… like CheezeWiz… j/k =)
    -You should stop by some time. We have an Ikea.

  3. Brian

    Cheezwiz is the best abomination to ever stock the grocery shelves. Second only to pub cheese. Whatever that is.

  4. Nader

    I agree with you in needing to get to know people and avoiding stereotypes, even though you used stereotypes in this post. Sometimes I think political arguments can be ridiculous, but I think that you bring up a good point. In general, we spend too much time attacking each other and not really accomplishing anything.

    I think if anyone came up to me and said they were ” a raving right wing evangelical conservative” I’d already have a pretty good idea of their personality haha. Anyways just thought I’d say something.

    Discuss.

  5. Brian

    Agreed on attacking each other. At the same time. allowance must be made for truth to be the central issue. Both sides tend to gain from attacking because it takes the focus off of what’s really been said, and what’s really been done. Instead, the focus becomes on who’s offending who, and who’s retaliating against being offended.

    I think much of the problem is that if you say something against someone, it automatically registers as an “attack”. There needs to be enough level headed thinking on both sides to deal with an issue as a statement of fact, or non fact. Followed with a proper rebuttal. There shouldn’t be any of this “how does this make you feel” nonsense. Instead any legitimate questions are swept under the wave of emotion.

    I think the emotional response is more often than not the only way to avoid admitting being wrong. What do we as people do when someone confronts us about being truly wrong? We get angry, we deny, we blame shift (Hello Adam and Eve). However, the wise man will admit a mistake, or refute it with fact (Hello David confronted by Nathan for the murder of Uriah). What it boils down to is that if people would accept responsibility and admit when they are wrong, then more can be accomplished.

    “Where there is no truth, there is no progress.” – Brian Horton

    I know this seems all to cut and dry or black and white for politics. But until we overcome this system of politics based on feeling there is not much hope for anything other than “attacks”.

  6. Bonnie

    I really like the fact that you quoted yourself. Good thoughts by all, even the nerd who says “bombdotcom.”

    Ok, so that was a stereotype. Now we all know why I leave the logical stuff to Brian.

  7. Nader

    I sort of see what you’re saying. I think there is a lot I could say about different things that you’ve brought up but I feel it just comes down to people treating each other like… people. No one really perfectly fits into a stereotype because stereotypes are oversimplified.

    Generally, It seems that the people with the loudest voices today, especially in this country, are the people that have the least respect for others (especially those that oppose them). Sadly these people become mascots for whatever they are associated with and only reinforce stereotypes. For example, there is this pastor/mofo that comes by my campus every couple of months shouting that gay people will burn in hell and blah blah. He definitely gets a crowd everytime. My point is, people will forever associate that guy with Christians and maybe even God. To me, what he says and does is not truth. Truth is loving people and respecting people and admitting when you’re wrong. It’s more than just words. I don’t really know what this has to do with anything but it’s just ish I’m thinking about. Hopefully I didn’t say a whole lot of nothing.

    Oh yea and I’m still waiting for Mr. George W to admit about being wrong about certain things haha. Or lying. Either way. Just in case he reads this…

    Converse.

  8. Brian

    You bring up an interesting point, and I think the problem can be boiled down to this: If the truth is not spoken in Love, it’s an absolute failure. Anyone who is married will tell you that even if what you say is %100 undeniable fact, if you say it in anger, annoyance, or bitterness then you have just lost the argument. No one hears what is said when the tone is not that of love. They only hear the attitude that carries it. Truth is delicate.

    Same with this pastor, is his message true? There is likely truth at the core of it. Does anyone actually hear him? Not a chance.

    The hardest part of overcoming stereotypes, speaking the truth, and working with those we don’t agree with is that we can not force anyone into it. We are only responsible for ourselves and for ensuring we do the right thing. Which is a pain in the butt when you’re trying to do the right thing in a world where no one else is. However, the actions of others never remove our obligation to do the right thing. We can only lead by example. It’s a rare situation in which doing the right thing is both painfully hard and yet grants limitless freedom.

    As for W, I’d wait for him to get out of office before the beans spill. While it does appear that there was over zealousness to invade Iraq, I would wager that there are more factors to the issue. We tend to forget that the upper branches of government get more information than we do in our daily papers. I’m not going all “conspiracy theory” or anything like that, but I want some time for the dust to settle before I make a final judgment regarding W’s time in office. He practically had a steaming pile of crap shoved on him while in office between the economic crisis / 9-11 / and Katrina. It’s been a rough eight years. I don’t say this in order to excuse anything he’s done wrong, we just need to keep it in perspective.

  9. Apryl

    um I am a few days late but I was just having this “sterotypes” conversation with a co-worker who happens to be a Democrat and it was really cool to have a level-headed, respectful discussion with her. Like you said Brian, get to know people, not the sterotype.

Leave a Reply

